parallax background

Canada Lacrosse Association and National Lacrosse Team Players’ Association Announce Renewed Agreement

Five MUST SEE Matchups – 2018 World Championships Preview
June 4, 2018
ESPN and ESPN+ to Present 2018 FIL World Lacrosse Championships
June 4, 2018

Oh Canada! Elite players will come to Israel to defend Gold

C OLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO – The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is pleased to announce that a tentative agreement has been reached between the Canada Lacrosse Association (CLA) and National Lacrosse Team Players’ Association (NLTPA) that permits Canada to defend its world championship title at the 2018 FIL Men’s World Championship in Netanya, Israel, July 12-21. The agreement between the players and member federation is confidential and was reached this past weekend.

The differences between the elite players of the NLTPA and the CLA have been settled with a shared vision on the promotion and growth of Lacrosse in Canada and support of world-wide efforts to grow the game. The Board of Directors of the CLA and the players are set to meet separately later this week to ratify the agreement for each party.

“On behalf of FIL and the lacrosse community, it is exciting to see Canada and its athletes agree in principle for Canada to field a full team at the 2018 World Championships,” said Sue Redfern, FIL President. “This agreement is extremely important for the continued growth and recognition of Lacrosse throughout the world as we build our presence for inclusion in a future Olympic Games.”

The 2018 FIL Men’s World Championships will feature 47 countries in Netanya, and will be telecast on Sport 5 in Israel, ESPN, and streamed world-wide. The United States and Canada are the only two countries to win the FIL Men’s World Championships. Canada claimed the gold medal at the 2014 FIL Men’s World Championships by outlasting the United States, 8-5, in Denver, Colorado.

The initial Men’s World Championships was a four-team invitational tournament in 1967. Since 1974, the FIL Men’s World Championships has been conducted every four years. The 2014 FIL Men’s World Championships featured 38 countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Our Partners